St. Paul’s has a rich heritage going back to 1829, when Mrs. Rachel Wetherill began hosting Bible studies in her kitchen at Mill Grove in Audubon.
In 1832, Old Union Church was completed in Audubon as a house of prayer for all Christians. In 1852, the St. Paul’s was officially organized as an Episcopal Church. Through a series of events, the current church building in Oaks was completed in 1872, and consecrated in memory of The Rev’d Dr. James May, a former Rector of the parish.
The Rev’d May had died in 1863 from Typhus Fever, which he contracted while providing ministry to Union soldiers in hospitals in Philadelphia.
Throughout our history, the outreach and community zeal demonstrated in the early days has remained as a key aspect of parish life and thought.
We continue to seek ways to proclaim the Good News of Jesus Christ in word and deed. Our greatest desire is for Him to be glorified as people come to know and love Him as Savior and Lord and to grow in their faith as His disciples.